Blueberry Plant Update

Currently, I have two blueberry bushes. When I first bought the plants I thought it was important to buy two separate varieties to find which plant will produce more fruit. I bought a Britewell and a Premier blueberry plant from Lowes when they had their plants at half off late last year.  The plants were lanky and had few leaves. I know you may be asking yourself, then why would she buy these plants when they seem a bit sickly?

Well….looks can be very deceiving. Both of my blueberry bushes have small cluster of blueberries that are slowly ripping on the plant. I hope to be able to enjoy some blueberries soon. I have read that blueberry plants usually do not produce blueberries their first year, so I am pleased with their progress. Presently, I have the plants under an oak tree where they receive part sun and part shade and are along side the Latham raspberry plan. To help promote their growth, I give my blueberry plants with coffee grounds and coffee now and then as they love the acid from coffee.

Here are some pictures of the progression of my blueberry plants since purchase.

Blueberry Plants_Future Home

Blueberry Plants_Future Home

Blueberry Plants_After purchase

Blueberry Plants_After purchase

The blueberries are coming out from hibernation. Woo Hoo!

Blueberry Plants_Blueberries are forming

Blueberry Plants_Blueberries are forming

Blueberry Plants_Today

Blueberry Plants_Today

Happy Gardening from Sandra

2 Comments

  1. Diane said,

    June 16, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    Do you have beetles attacking your berry plants at all? I’ve planted some strawberries and the beetles are going nuts on them.

  2. sandragardens said,

    June 17, 2010 at 7:08 pm

    No, I have not had problems with beetles so far :: knock on wood:: I have seen some of my strawberry plants eaten, but not taken over yet. Are they in pots where you can relocate them temporarily? If not, have you tried putting some netting over them? This may help.


Leave a Reply

