Update-Latham Raspberry Bush

Currently, I have one Latham Raspberry bush. When I first bought it looked no more than a bumpy stick. I thought to myself, how is this raspberry stick going to produce some edible raspberries by early summer? Well….looks can be very deceiving. My raspberry bush has a cluster of raspberries growing and I hope able to enjoy some raspberries soon.

Here are some pictures of the progression of the Latham Raspberry stick, I mean berry plant.

Here is a picture where the new home will be:

Latham Raspberry Bush_Future Home

Latham Raspberry Bush_Future Home

Here is a picture once the stick, I mean the berry plant was transplanted to give off the future berries I will grave.

Latham Raspberry Bush_Settling in to new home

Latham Raspberry Bush_Settling in to new home

 

Winterizing the berry plant, along with the small garden.

Latham Raspberry Bush_Making it through the winter

Latham Raspberry Bush_Making it through the winter

Here are the first signs of life from the stick, I mean berry plant I bought. 🙂

Latham Raspberry Bush_First signs of life

Latham Raspberry Bush_First signs of life

I see flowers…Go Berry Go!

Latham Raspberry Bush_I see flowers

Latham Raspberry Bush_I see flowers

The first berries have come up…Woo Hoo!

Latham Raspberry Bush_First signs of berries

Latham Raspberry Bush_First signs of berries

 

I am starting to see signs of pink.

Latham Raspberry Bush_Turning Pink

Latham Raspberry Bush_Turning Pink

 

Here is a picture of what the berry plant is doing today:

Latham Raspberry Bush_Will need to resist not to pluck soon

Latham Raspberry Bush_Will need to resist not to pluck soon

 

Happy Gardening from Sandra

2 Comments

  1. Darth Paul said,

    May 3, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    I love it! Same thing happened to me w/blueberries. My partner brought home 2 bunches of sticks and I was at a loss. I never grew any berries much less acid-loving ones in highly alkaline area. According to everyone, they’re not even supposed to flower their 1st year, but somehow mine not only flowered but put on a few berries. That was last year- this year, they’re major. It just HAPPENS sometimes.

  2. sandragardens said,

    May 15, 2010 at 1:01 pm

    Hi Paul,
    I am enjoying growing my own strawberries, raspberries, black berries and blue berries this year. My black berries have not shown much sign of life, but I am enjoying a few raspberries here and there. Like you, this is my first year with my blueberry plants and I have a few that I hope to enjoy very soon. I will try to post some pictures soon. Looking forward to next year’s crop too.

    Happy Gardening from Sandra


Leave a Reply

