Planted new spring transplants

Today, I planted more seeds that I will use as transplants into my spring garden. I planted a second round of cowpea, garden peas, spinach, turnips and I added kohl rabbi and romaine lettuce. I have set up the plants where they will be able to receive most sunlight during the day until they are ready to be placed outside.

Additional new spring seeds to be transplants.

Additional new spring seeds to be transplants.

Soaking seeds, soon to be transplants into the spring garden.

Soaking seeds, soon to be transplants into the spring garden.

I am using some reused popsicle wooden sticks to note which seeds have been planted and when. Recycle-Reuse, part of my gardening experience.

Happy gardening from Sandra.

4 Comments

  1. January 18, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    Cool! I always lose my markers, then never know what I end up with. Good luck! Natural Gardener has onions, strawberries, raspberries, asparagus, and lots of lettuces, broccoli and cabbage from transplants.

    • sandragardens said,

      January 21, 2010 at 7:13 pm

      Thank you for the tip on the Natural Gardener information. However, I have already planted strawberries, raspberry plant, onions and have planted some lettuce and broccoli seeds to be transplants in the future. I still have some broccoli in the small garden that I will need to look to harvest soon, but I am afraid they are not looking as well as I would like. Hope your garden is going well….

  2. Diane Tran said,

    January 20, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    Sandra,
    What is Kohl Rabbi? I”ve never heard of that. How do you use that in cooking?

    • sandragardens said,

      January 21, 2010 at 7:15 pm

      I planted some Kohl Rabbi for my mom as she had this vegetable growing up. I want to surprise her if it comes up. It is a form of a parsnip. You can use it in stews and steam it.


Leave a comment