Summer Planting

I got a late start to my summer planting as I did not have a raised garden that was useable before the new raised gardens were established. However, I did start some seeds in July 2009 by using recyclable coffee cups my husband brought home from his work. I did not have much equipment and utensils for gardening, so I made do with what I had. I tried different dirt (i.e., potting soil, dillo dirt, and earlier ground dirt) and sometimes mixed in some compost to decide which combination would yield a better vegetable return. From seeds, I grew the following to include the vendor, type of vegetable and my results:

Yellow summer squash – Burpee – Early Prolific Straight Neck – Result Yield 15 squashes

Green snap beans – Burpee – Kentucky Wonder – Result Yield 5 heavy yield bunches

Okra- Burpee – Clemsen Spineless -Result Yield 1 small okra

Winter squash (i.e., spaghetti squash) – Burpee – Vegetable Spaghetti – Result Yield 9 squashes

Pumpkins- Burpee – Jack Be Littles – Result Yield 14 mini pumpkins

Here are some pictures from my summer vegetables that I was able to enjoy.

Summer Garden Results

Summer Garden Results

Summer 2009 Green Bean Harvest

Summer 2009 Green Bean Harvest

Greenbean compared to the size of a pen.

Greenbean compared to the size of a pen.

Summer squash compared to the size of a pen.

Summer squash compared to the size of a pen.

Happy Gardening from Sandra

1 Comment

  1. Aunt Effie said,

    January 22, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    I dont rember garding being this labor hard we just plowed a row and throwed the seeds in and covered them with dirt They grew of cource nin WV maybe they do stuff different in Texas??? take care love to all


Leave a comment